About Us

Our History

Caritas Christi Hospice at Kew was the first inpatient palliative care facility in Victoria, founded in 1938 by the Sisters of Charity. Over the years Caritas Christi grew to provide a range of both palliative care and aged care services reaching over 100 inpatient beds.

In the late 1990's, one Caritas palliative care ward was relocated from Kew to the 6th floor of St Vincent's Hospital Inpatient Services Building in Fitzroy. In early 2000, the aged care component came under the remit of St Georges and St Vincent's Aged Care Services. In January 2008, Caritas Christi Hospice, St Georges Hospital, Prague House and St Vincent's Hospital became one legal entity - St Vincent's Hospital (Melbourne) Incorporated. St Vincent’s Hospital is a public hospital that aims to provide optimal nursing and medical care in an atmosphere of Christian love and compassion, according to the values of the Sisters of Charity.

Currently with 8 inpatient beds in Fitzroy, 28 inpatient beds in Kew and a variety of other services and programs, St Vincent’s Palliative Care Services continues to foster and enhance expertise and developments in the provision of palliative care.

Our Mission

St Vincent’s Palliative Care Services is dedicated to providing the best possible healthcare, drawing on the talents and creativity of staff, volunteers and others who share a vision to:

  • Continue the healing ministry of Christ, which upholds the dignity of each individual and promotes wholeness and transformation as life nears its end.
  • Create an environment in which the values and culture of patients and their families are respected.
  • Achieve excellence in palliative and aged care practice, education and research.
  • Collaborate with community, aged and acute care services in the delivery of integrated palliative and aged care.

Our Team

St Vincent’s Palliative Care Services – Medical Consultants

A/ Professor Mark Boughey
Director Palliative Medicine
mark.boughey@svha.org.au
Tel: (03) 9231 5640 pg. 169


Professor Jennifer Philip
Department of Medicine, University of Melbourne, St Vincent's Hospital
& Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre (VCCC)
UoM Email: jphilip@unimelb.edu.au
St Vincent's Email: jennifer.philip@svha.org.au

Tel: (03) 9231 1155 Fax: (03) 9288 2581


Dr Jenny Weil
Deputy Director Palliative Medicine
Consultation Service Fitzroy Campus
jennifer.weil@svha.org.au
Tel: (03) 9231 2211


Dr Tamsin Bryan
Lead Physician – St Vincent’s Palliative Care
Consultation Service Fitzroy Campus
tamsin.bryan@svha.org.au
Tel: (03) 9231 2211


Dr Peter Sherwen
Lead Physician – Inpatient Palliative Care Unit
Caritas Christi Hospice, Kew Campus
peter.sherwen@svha.org.au
Tel: (03) 9231 5000 Fax: (03) 9231 5666


Dr Beth Russell
Lead Physician – St Vincent’s Palliative Care
Consultation Service Fitzroy Campus
beth.russell@svha.org.au
Tel: (03) 9231 2211 Fax: 9416 3919


Dr Jo-An Seah
Consultant - Inpatient Palliative Care Unit, Kew Campus
& Palliative Care Consultation Service, Fitzroy Campus
Jo-an.seah@svha.org.au
Tel: (03) 9231 5000 Fax: (03) 9231 5666


Dr Sarah Leung
Consultant - Inpatient Palliative Care Unit, Kew Campus
sarah.leung@svha.org.au
Tel: (03) 9231 5000 / 9231 1799 Fax: (03) 9231 5666


Dr Laura Booth
Consultant - Palliative Care Consultation Service, Fitzroy Campus
Cancer Care, Kew Campus
laura.booth@svha.org.au
Tel: (03) 9231 2211