Congratulations to the Ann Cook Clinical Nursing Scholarship recipients


Pictured left to right: Meg Mackenzie, Jess Demajo, Jan Waters, Kathryn Connor, Megan Carmichael, Ann Cook, Rachell Mills, Lousie West (on behalf of Patricia Ford), Margaret Loh, Marcella Regester.

The Ann Cook Scholarship fund was established in 2018 to provide financial assistance to St Vincent’s Hospital Melbourne clinical nurses who had undertaken projects relating to nursing practice at our organisation. The scholarship fund is aimed at supporting clinical nurse leaders, early researchers and quality improvement projects across SVHM.

Speaking at the awards ceremony was Jade Murphy, General Manager, Education and Learning, Associate Professor Kath Riddell, Chief Nursing Officer and Professor Elizabeth McInnes, Professor of Nursing and Deputy Director, Nursing Research Institute.

Also in attendance was Ann Cook herself, who ended the festivities by commending all the recipients on their high calibre projects.

Ann Cook began her nursing training at St Vincent’s Hospital Melbourne on 15 October 1957. She made a positive impact on our health service and the patients in her care during her 50 years. Ann was known as a very strong clinical nurse leader amongst her peers and we are delighted to name this scholarship fund in her honour.

Facilitated by the Education and Learning department, scholarships of up to $5000 were awarded to 7 projects, conducted by 9 recipients.

Congratulations to all the 2021 recipients;

Margaret Loh, Diabetes Education – Nurse-led clinic using evidence-based technology to assist diabetes care following renal transplant and in patients with end-stage renal disease ESRD.

Marcella Regester, Mental Health – Provision of holistic and comprehensive care: exploring how stigma affects mental health nurses clinical care provision for consumers of mental health services (patients) who use substances (alcohol, nicotine, tobacco, prescription medication and illicit substances.

Patricia Ford, Education and Learning – Period of non-invasive positive pressure ventilation (NIPPV) to improve patient outcomes post open heart surgery on the cardiothoracic ward.

Jessica Demajo, Cancer Services – Post-autologous stem cell transplant patient immunisation program.

Megan Carmichael, Emergency Department – Time to analgesia analysis project.

Kathryn Connor, 10 West, and Matthew Lee, Intensive Care Unit – Nurse Leader Rounding, Neurosurgical Unit 10 West

Jan Waters, Subacute Services, and Meg Mackenzie, Rehab St Vincent’s Hospital on the Park – ‘Good to Go’ status criteria (Nursing) for Subacute /TCBB - standard process and language

Also attending were former recipients from 2018 and 2019, who provided updates on their projects and how their scholarship funds had helped their progress. They were inspirations to all attending, especially to the 2021 winners.