skip to content
skip to content
skip to content

Governing bodies 


St Vincent’s is part of Australia’s largest not-for-profit health service. We are governed by a national body, St Vincent’s Health Australia (formerly the Sisters of Charity Health Service). St Vincent's is committed to continuing the tradition of care exemplified by our founders the Sisters of Charity. Our values are the means by which we continue this tradition of care. We will be guided by these values in our relationships with the people we serve and our partners.


St Vincent's Health Australia

St Vincent's Health Australia (SVHA) and its partners form one of Australia's leading Catholic not-for-profit diversified healthcare providers. The health service is founded on a firm commitment to its Mission and values, based on the Gospel and Catholic social teaching in the spirit of Mary Aikenhead, founder of the Sisters of Charity. SVHA's broad ranging health services span the public, private and aged care health sectors in New South Wales, Queensland and Victoria.


Today, SVHA comprises: 4 public hospitals, 7 private hospitals and 10 aged care facilities, totalling more than 2,600 hospital beds and 1,100 aged care places across the public and private sector. Its services employ approximately 13,000 staff, are affiliated with more than 2,500 medical practitioners and specialists, and benefit from over 1,300 volunteers who generously provide support services. Each year SVHA provides more than a million occasions of service through inpatient and day only admissions, while over a million episodes of care are accessed through its outpatient services.


The Sisters of Charity are also associated with four major research facilities in Australia: Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute and the Garvan Institute of Medical Research, both in Sydney, and the St Vincent's Institute and the O'Brien Institute, both in Melbourne. Visit the St Vincent's Health Australia website for more information.


Mary Aikenhead Ministries

In 2008 the Sisters of Charity of Australia were granted approval by the Catholic Church to establish Mary Aikenhead Ministries to support the continued growth and development of the various health, education and welfare initiatives established by the Congregation. Mary Aikenhead Ministries officially commenced operations on 1 July 2009. Visit the Mary Aikenhead Ministries website for more information.


St Vincent's Advisory Council

The St Vincent's Health Australia (SVHA) Board has established regional Community Advisory Committees in Queensland, NSW and Victoria.


Community Advisory Committees provide the SVHA Board with:

  • advice, support and insight into the local community and health services and
  • strategic links to local Church, government and community resources so as to inform the SVHA Board in relation to the strategic direction of SVHA.


In Victoria, the regional Community Advisory Committee is known as the St Vincent's Advisory Council.

The members of the St Vincent's Advisory Council (Council) who have been appointed by the SVHA Board are:

  • Ms Lorraine Elliott AM, Chair of the Council
  • Ms Megs Alston
  • Mr David Coogan
  • Mr Brendan Earle (who is also an SVHA Board Director)
  • Ms Patricia Faulkner AO (who is also an SVHA Board Director)
  • Sr Teresita Marcelo RSC
  • Ms Kerry Smith
  • Mr Greg Sword AM
  • Dr Elizabeth Wilkie


The Council meets quarterly. The CEO of St Vincent's Hospital (Melbourne) Limited and the CEO of St Vincents Private Hospital Limited attend the Council’s meeting along with members of their Executive teams, as required.


Further information about the Council is available from the Council’s Executive Officer: Susan Miller

41 Victoria Parade, Fitzroy VIC 3065, Australia. Phone: (03) 9288 2211